New Players Only. Min £10 qualifying bets stake not returned. Free bet - one-time stake of £10, min odds 1.5, stake not returned. 1X wager the winnings. Wager from real balance first. Wager calculated on bonus bets only. Max conversion: £200. Valid for 7 Days from issue. Withdrawal requests void all active/pending bonuses. Excluded Skrill and Neteller deposits. Full Terms Apply

EFL Trophy

The EFL Trophy is a yearly knockout football competition organized by the English Football League. As with the other English football competitions, the EFL Trophy is known for its riveting clashes that take place every season.

At Britain Bet, we offer you the chance to wager on the EFL Trophy during each and every round of the competition. Our EFL Trophy coverage features a variety of football betting markets around. So, whether you prefer futures betting or want to wager on the outright winner of the game, we’ve got you covered. Sign up now and dive into the fun today!

EFL Trophy format explained

Earlier, the EFL trophy was only open to 48 clubs from EFL League One and EFL League Two. But now, the competition also includes 16 under-21 teams from the Premier League and the EFL Championship.

At the start of the EFL season, the 64 football clubs were placed into 16 regionalized groups of 4 teams – with eight groups in the northern section and eight groups in the southern section. Each side then plays against every other team thrice, with the academies playing all of their games away from home.

During the course of a regular EFL Trophy season, the winner of a match receives three points whereas one point is awarded for a draw. In case of a draw, a penalty shoot-out is conducted, where the winning team receives an additional point. The top two sides in each of the EFL Trophy groups then get qualified for the knockout rounds.

The first matchday of the EFL falls in the month of September, and the following matches are usually played in midweek at monthly intervals. The final match of the EFL Trophy is held at the Wembley Stadium on the final Sunday in March.

About the EFL Trophy

The English Football League Trophy, commonly known as the EFL trophy, is a yearly English association football knockout tournament. Founded 37 years ago in 1984, the competition is open for football clubs from the EFL League One, EFL League Two, as well as the under-21 sides from EFL Championship and Premier League.

This football competition began as the Associate Members’ Cup in 1984. But when lower-division football teams became full members of the Football League in 1992, the league was renamed the Football League Trophy. Following some changes in the 2016 season, the competition got its current name the EFL Trophy.

Top EFL Trophy markets to bet on

At Britain Bet, we offer the best football odds on a variety of EFL Trophy betting markets. Here’s a look at some of the most popular EFL Trophy markets to bet on:

Final Result

This is one of the simplest and most popular types of football betting markets. Here, all you need to do is wager on what the final outcome of the football game will be (a home win, an away win or a draw).

Double Chance

This football bet type adds an interesting element to the final results markets. Here, instead of wagering on just one outcome, you bet on two outcomes. For example, you can wager on a home win or draw, away win or draw or even a home win or away win with this bet type.


With this football betting market, you wager on whether the total number of goals will be over or under a specific number. As there are only two possible outcomes here, the chances of winning this bet are usually high.

Half Time/Full Time

This bet type is the combination of Half Time markets and Final Results markets. To win this wager, you need to correctly predict the result at both half time and full time.

Correct Score

If you think that you can correctly guess the final score of an EFL Trophy fixture, you might want to go with this bet type. As it is more difficult to predict the correct score than other bet types, the odds for this betting market are usually high.

Past EFL Trophy winners

Season Winner Runner-Up Score
2021 Sunderland Tranmere Rovers 1–0
2020 Salford City Portsmouth 0–0
2019 Portsmouth Sunderland 2–2
2018 Lincoln City Shrewsbury Town 1–0
2017 Coventry City Oxford United 2–1
2016 Barnsley Oxford United 3–2
2015 Bristol City Walsall 2–0
2014 Peterborough United Chesterfield 3–1
2013 Crewe Alexandra Southend United 2–0
2012 Chesterfield Swindon Town 2–0
2011 Carlisle United Brentford 1–0
2010 Southampton Carlisle United 4–1
2009 Luton Town Scunthorpe United 3–2
2008 Milton Keynes Dons Grimsby Town 2–0
2007 Doncaster Rovers Bristol Rovers 3–2
2006 Swansea City Carlisle United 2–1
2005 Wrexham Southend United 2–0
2004 Blackpool Southend United 2–0
2003 Bristol City Carlisle United 2–0

Enjoy EFL Trophy betting on the go!

Given the increasing popularity of mobile betting, many football bettors now want to wager on their favorite football leagues on the move. And at Britain Bet, we get that right! So, to make things easy for you, we offer a fully-optimized mobile site that allows you to wager on your favorite football betting fixture through your smartphone or tablet. All aspects of web-based football betting are covered on the mobile platform, so you don’t have to miss on anything while betting on the go.