New Players Only. Free bet - one-time stake of £10, min odds 1.5, stake not returned. 1X wager the winnings. Wager from real balance first. Wager calculated on bonus bets only. Max conversion: £200. Valid for 7 Days from receipt. Limited to 1 sport & 5 casino brand/s within the network. Withdrawal requests void all active/pending bonuses. Excluded Skrill and Neteller deposits. Full Terms Apply

T20 Blast

The English T20 Blast, also referred to as the Vitality T20 Blast, is one of the major cricket tournaments in the world. Held between the July and September window, T20 Blast attracts millions of spectators and sports bettors across the globe.

On this page, we offer everything that you need to know about T20 Blast betting, from T20 Blast format and divisions to how the T20 betting odds work. After going through this guide, you can easily place wagers on any T20 Blast game at Britain Bet. Let’s get started!

T20 Blast History

With the conclusion of the Benson and Hedges Cup in the early 2000s, the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) needed another competition to fill its void. This resulted in the launch of a 20-over competition that aimed at delivering fast-paced and exciting cricket to fans who were put off by the longer format of the game.

The first Twenty20 Cup by the ECB was conducted in the year 2003. The first season of the tournament turned out to be a huge success, though it was very much an experiment. After that, the tournament kept drawing a huge audience each year and the rest is history.

Between 2003 and 2009, this 20-over competition in England was simply known as the T20 Cup as no major sponsor attached their name to the event. But with the increasing popularity of other T20 tournaments like the IPL, the England T20 Cup found its first major backer and got renamed as Friends Provident T20 Cup.

In 2014, NatWest became the official sponsor of the T20 tournament, renewing their long standing relationship with the county game. NatWest’s association with the T20 game ended in 2018 when Vitality took over as the main sponsor. Vitality still remains the lead sponsor of the tournament.

T20 Blast Format and Divisions

In order to enjoy cricket betting on this T20 tournament, it’s important for you to understand the format of the game. In T20 Blast, 18 first-class counties compete for the coveted T20 Cup.

The 18 counties are divided into two or three geographical divisions, the number varying each year. In T20 Blast seasons with two divisions, the top four teams in each division qualify for the playoff stage. Then a set of quarter-finals leave four teams in the competition.

In T20 Blast seasons with three divisions, on the other hand, two teams in each division and two best third-place teams qualify for the playoff stage. As with the two division seasons, a set of quarter-finals leave four teams here.

After the conclusion of the initial matches and playoffs in July and August, the semi-finals and the final of T20 Blast are played on the finals days at Edgbaston in September. The nature of this T20 game allows fans to enjoy a full day’s worth of cricketing action on the same ground.

As you now know the format of T20 Blast, below are the tables that list the division of the 18 first-class counties as per their geographical locations:

Two division format

Northern Division Southern Division
Derbyshire Falcons Essex Eagles
Durham Glamorgan
Lancashire Lightning Gloucestershire
Leicestershire Foxes Hampshire Hawks
Northamptonshire Steelbacks Kent Spitfires
Notts Outlaws (Nottinghamshire) Middlesex
Birmingham Bears (Warwickshire) Somerset
Worcestershire Rapids Surrey
Yorkshire Vikings Sussex Sharks

Three division format

Northern Division Central Division Southern Division
Derbyshire Falcons Glamorgan Essex Eagles
Durham Gloucestershire Hampshire Hawks
Lancashire Lightning Northamptonshire Steelbacks Kent Spitfires
Leicestershire Foxes Somerset Middlesex
Notts Outlaws (Nottinghamshire) Birmingham Bears (Warwickshire) Surrey
Yorkshire Vikings Worcestershire Rapids Sussex Sharks

T20 Blast Betting Markets

As with the other sports betting options at Britain Bet, there are multiple markets available for T20 Blast betting on our platform. Some of these betting options are:

Outright winner

Predict which team will win the T20 Blast tournament in the ongoing season.

Match Winner

Bet on which team will win a particular match in the competition.

Top Batsman

Wager on who will be the top batsman in the given T20 Blast game.

Top Bowler

This is a bet on the top bowler in the T20 Blast game.

Other T20 Blast betting options available at Britain Bet include total sixes in a match, total runs in a match, which team will win the first toss, method of 1st dismissal, and more.

T20 Blast Betting Odds

When placing wagers on cricket or any other sports online, it’s important for you to understand the odds. With Britain bet, you have the option to choose how to view your cricket betting odds. As a bettor, you can opt to display the odds as decimal, fractional, American, HongKong, Malaysian, and Indonesian.

Make sure you can read the betting odds as it will help you in understanding the probability of an outcome. Also, you can use the odds to calculate your payout if the bet wins. To give you an example of how you can calculate the payout using betting odds, consider a match between Glamorgan and Durham with the following decimal odds:

Glamorgan: 2.00

Durham: 1.70

Here, if you place a bet on Glamorgan and they manage to win, you’ll receive 2x your original stake back. On the other hand, the payout will be 1.7x your stake amount if you’ve placed a bet on Durham and they win the game.

Previous Vitality Blast Winners

The first T20 Cup tournament in 2003 was won by Surrey. The title for winning the most T20 Blast tournaments is held by Leicestershire Foxes, with victories in 2004, 2006, and 2011.

Out of the 18 counties, only five have never won any T20 Blast season. They are Glamorgan, Gloucestershire, Derbyshire, Durham, and Yorkshire.

Below is a table that details the past T20 Blast champions till 2021:

Year Winner
2003 Surrey
2004 Leicestershire Foxes
2005 Somerset Sabres
2006 Leicestershire Foxes
2007 Kent Spitfires
2008 Middlesex Crusaders
2009 Sussex Sharks
2010 Hampshire Royals
2011 Leicestershire Foxes
2012 Hampshire Royals
2013 Northants Steelbacks
2014 Birmingham Bears
2015 Lancashire Lightning
2016 Northants Steelbacks
2017 Notts Outlaws
2018 Worcestershire Rapids
2019 Essex Eagles
2020 Notts Outlaws
2021 Kent Spitfires


Now that you know everything about T20 Blast, it’s time to enjoy some T20 Blast betting with Britain Bet online. However, as T20 Blast is an annual competition that’s held between the July-September window, you can only wager on this T20 tournament during that time. That said, it’s still possible for bettors to enjoy cricket betting on several other cricket events and tournaments at Britain Bet. We cover all the major cricket tournaments across the globe, meaning you can place wagers on cricket throughout the year. Join Britain Bet now and place bets on T20 Blast or other cricketing events today!