New Players Only. Min £10 qualifying bets stake not returned. Free bet - one-time stake of £10, min odds 1.5, stake not returned. 1X wager the winnings. Wager from real balance first. Wager calculated on bonus bets only. Max conversion: £200. Valid for 7 Days from issue. Withdrawal requests void all active/pending bonuses. Excluded Skrill and Neteller deposits. Full Terms Apply

Royal Challengers Bangalore

Featuring some of the best players in the cricket world, Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) is one of the strongest teams in the Indian Premier League (IPL). The franchise has delivered extraordinary performances in the league stages in many IPL editions, but still, the Virat Kohli-led side hasn’t been able to claim their IPL title.

On this page, we offer a comprehensive RCB team guide that details everything you need to know about the franchise. After going through our preview, you’ll be able to place more informed bets and have an entertaining cricket betting experience. Read on!

Royal Challengers Bangalore History

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) is one of the eight original IPL franchises that have been in the league since its inaugural edition in 2008. Ahead of the first IPL season, RCB recruited some of the top Indian and overseas players and named Rahul Dravid as its icon player. But despite that, the franchise finished seventh in the group stage that year.

In 2009, RCB made some changes in its squad and signed Robin Uthappa, Manish Pandey, and Kevin Peterson. The new additions proved to be advantageous for the franchise as they managed to reach the finals stage in the 2009 IPL edition. However, RCB lost the final game to Deccan Chargers and ended as runners-up that year.

RCB continued their great form from next year as well, but they had to settle on the third position in the third season of the league. The next great year for RCB came in 2016 when they made it to the finals of the league. But they again had to face despair as they lost the game to Sunrisers Hyderabad on the final night of the 2016 IPL season.

While RCB has faced several disappointments throughout its IPL journey, the franchise has been a firm favorite in online IPL betting markets, all thanks to the big names in the RCB squad.

Owners of Royal Challengers Bangalore

The Royal Challengers Bangalore team is owned by United Spirits Limited. Headquartered in Bangalore, Karnataka, United Spirit is an Indian alcoholic company that is the second-largest in the world by volume. Mahendra Kumar Sharma is the current Chairman of USL, with Anand Kripalu being its Chief Executive Officer. United Spirits is a subsidiary of a British multinational alcohol beverage company headquartered in the United Kingdom.

Home Ground of Royal Challengers Bangalore

Royal Challengers Bangalore plays all its home games at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium located in Bangalore, Karnataka. Formerly known as the Karnataka State Cricket Association Stadium, the stadium was later renamed in tribute of Mangalam Chinnaswamy, who donated the land for the stadium and was also the president of BCCI from 1977-1980.

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Team Strengths

One of the core strengths of RCB is its top order. The franchise has Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, and Devdutt Padikkal in its batting lineup, all of whom can alter the course of the game with their exceptional batting performances.

The availability of Glenn Maxwell and Dan Christian in the squad means that RCB also has quality all-rounders who can contribute with both the bat and the ball when needed.

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Team Weaknesses

RCB has managed to address its middle-order issue in its last IPL edition. But the same can’t be said for the team’s death bowling. RCB has spent a hefty amount on New Zealand pacer Kyle Jamieson who has very little experience of playing in franchise tournaments outside his country.

Speaking of their Indian bowlers, aside from Chahal, none of the Indian options have comparable experience or economies. The lack of experience may hurt RCB in some games.

RCB All Time Batting Stats

Most runs – Virat Kohli (6235)

Most sixes – AB de Villiers (249)

Highest individual score – Brendon McCullum (158*)

Highest strike rate – Glenn Maxwell (152.59)

Highest average – Iqbal Abdulla (44.00)

Most fifties – Virat Kohli (42)

Most centuries – Virat Kohli (5)

Most fours – Virat Kohli (540)

Fastest fifty – Chris Gayle (17 balls)

Fastest century – Chris Gayle (30 balls)

RCB All Time Bowling Stats

Most wickets – Yuzvendra Chahal (135)

Best bowling figures – Anil Kumble (3.1 overs, 5 runs, 5 wickets – 2009 season)

Best bowling average – Mitchell Starc (20.38)

Best economy rate – Muttiah Muralitharan (6.67)

Most maidens – Ravi Rampaul (4)

Most hat-tricks – Samuel Badree, Harshal Patel (1 each)

Royal Challengers Bangalore IPL Records

IPL Edition Result
2021 4th
2020 4th
2019 8th
2018 6th
2017 8th
2016 2nd
2015 3rd
2014 7th
2013 5th
2012 5th
2011 2nd
2010 3rd
2009 2nd
2008 7th