New Players Only. Free bet - one-time stake of £10, min odds 1.5, stake not returned. 1X wager the winnings. Wager from real balance first. Wager calculated on bonus bets only. Max conversion: £200. Valid for 7 Days from receipt. Limited to 1 sport & 5 casino brand/s within the network. Withdrawal requests void all active/pending bonuses. Excluded Skrill and Neteller deposits. Full Terms Apply

Rajasthan Royals

Rajasthan Royals is one of the eight founding teams of the Indian Premier League that has experienced a lot of twists and turns throughout its IPL journey. The winners of the inaugural IPL edition have provided the much-needed platform to quite a few amazing T20 talents over the years.

While the Royals have enthralled their fans with several riveting clashes in their IPL journey so far, they have never been able to match their 2008 IPL performance. RR is one of the few IPL teams that are in dire need of revival and the change in the team’s leader is one of the steps they’ve taken to bring the franchise on the right track again.

Despite their average performances in most of the IPL seasons, RR has experienced a tremendous rise in online betting on the franchise, all thanks to its top recruits like Sanju Samson, Ben Stokes, Joss Buttler, and Jofra Archer.

Here is a detailed overview of the Rajasthan Royals team that takes a look at everything you need to know about the franchise as an online sports bettor. Continue reading!

Rajasthan Royals History

In the inaugural IPL edition where franchises from big cities roped in star players of that time, Rajasthan Royals didn’t have a stellar lineup to boast on. However, the franchise left everyone stunned by winning the first season of the league. After having a great campaign in the league stage, The Royals went on to defeat Chennai Super Kings by three wickets in the IPL 2008 final. Here, Yusuf Pathan was given the man of the match award, and Pakistani cricketer Sohail Tanvir received the Purple Cap for most wickets (22).

With the exceptional triumph over CSK, it took no time for Rajasthan to become a popular option in the IPL betting markets. However, RR fans would have to wait for another five years before the franchise made it to the IPL finals again.

Following the spot-fixing saga that saw the franchise being banned in 2016 and 2017, RR made a strong comeback in 2018 by making their way to the playoffs. However, their finals hope were crushed by Kolkata Knight Riders when they defeated the then Sanju Samson-led side by 25 runs.

Owners of Rajasthan Royals

Often referred to as the “Moneyball” team of the IPL, Rajasthan Royals Is known for garnering young talents. The franchise is co-owned by Manoj Badale, Amisha Hathiramani, Shane Warne, and Lachlan Murdoch.

Manoj Badale is the chairman of the British Air Trust, and co-founder of Blenheim Chalcot, while Lachlan Murdoch is the executive chairman of Nova Entertainment, co-chairman of News Corp, and CEO of the Fox Corporation. Shane Warne owns a minor stake in the franchise through his undergarment brand Spinners.

Home Ground of Rajasthan Royals

The home ground of Rajasthan Royals is the Sawai Mansingh Stadium located in Jaipur. Built during the reign of Maharaja Sawai Man Singh II in 1969, the stadium has a seating capacity of 30,000 and is mostly full during Rajasthan Royals matches.

Rajasthan Royals: Team Strengths

Sanju Samson, Ben Stokes, and Jos Buttler are Rajasthan Royals’ top prospects when it comes to batting. Also, the franchise has bolstered up its middle order with the likes of Shivam Dube and Chris Morris. And youngsters like Yashasvi Jaiswal and Riyan Parag have the potential to post good totals when required.

Rajasthan has also strengthened its bowling department by recruiting Jofra Archer. The young lad can receive support from Chris Morris and even Mustafizur Rahman as and when needed. Leg spin is also their strength as RR has three good leg spinners in the form of Rahul Tewatia, Shreyas Gopal, and Mayank Markande.

Rajasthan Royals: Team Weaknesses

Due to their overdependence on foreign players, the Indian batsmen and bowlers sometimes look raw in the RR squad. Apart from Samson, Rajasthan doesn’t have an experienced batsman who can handle the batting department elegantly at crucial times. That being said, RR’s overseas recruits must deliver good performances for their franchise to be successful. 

RR All Time Batting Stats

Most runs – Sanju Samson (3064)

Most sixes – Sanju Samson (132)

Highest individual score – Jos Buttler (124)

Highest strike rate – Chris Morris (156.06)

Highest average – Adam Voges (45.25)

Most fifties – Sanju Samson (50)

Most centuries – Sanju Samson (3)

Most fours – Sanju Samson (236)

RR All Time Bowling Stats

Most wickets – Chris Morris (94)

Best bowling figures – Sohail Tanvir (4 overs, 14 runs, 6 wickets – 2008 season)

Best bowling average – Jofra Archer (21.32)

Best economy rate – Jofra Archer (7.13)

Most hat-tricks – Ajit Chandlia, Andrew Tye, Shreyas Gopal (1 each)

Rajasthan Royals IPL Records

IPL Season Result
2008 Winners
2009 Sixth
2010 Seventh
2011 Sixth
2012 Seventh
2013 Playoff
2014 Fifth
2015 Playoff
2016 Suspended
2017 Suspended
2018 Playoff
2019 Seventh
2020 Eighth
2021 Seventh