New Players Only. Min £10 qualifying bets stake not returned. Free bet - one-time stake of £10, min odds 1.5, stake not returned. 1X wager the winnings. Wager from real balance first. Wager calculated on bonus bets only. Max conversion: £200. Valid for 7 Days from issue. Withdrawal requests void all active/pending bonuses. Excluded Skrill and Neteller deposits. Full Terms Apply

Punjab Kings

Punjab Kings (PBKS), previously known as Kings XI Punjab, is one of the eight founding teams in the Indian Premier League (IPL). The franchise has featured some of the best stars in the cricketing world from the very start, but still, it hasn’t managed to lift the coveted IPL trophy.

Given the roller-coaster ride of Punjab Kings throughout their IPL journey, it’s no surprise that their fans have experienced both an extreme range of excitement as well as great despair. So, placing bets on Punjab Kings is pretty exhilarating and entertaining.

On this page, we offer a detailed Punjab Kings preview to help you make more informed decisions when enjoying cricket betting on this IPL franchise. Keep reading!

Punjab Kings History

Punjab is one of the eight founding teams that made their appearance in the inaugural edition of the IPL. The 2008 season got off to a slow start for the Kings, but they found their groove and managed to confirm their berth in the semifinals. However, their impressive run in the tournament came to an end after a nine-wicket loss to CSK in the semi-finals.

Finishing as semi-finalists in the first IPL season, Punjab had high hopes of lifting the coveted IPL trophy in the 2009 IPL tournament. However, the franchise experienced a roller-coaster ride that year and their semi-final hopes got crushed after losing to CSK in their last match.

After being unable to make it to the playoffs in the next four seasons, Kings XI Punjab finally confirmed their spot in the finals in the 2014 season. Here, Punjab elected to bat first and set a good target for Kolkata Knight Riders. However, a spell-bounding knock by Manish Pandey for KKR meant that Punjab ended as runners-up in the 2014 IPL finals.

In February 2021, Kings XI Punjab was renamed to Punjab Kings ahead of the 14th edition of the IPL. The owners stated the reason for changing the name was to relook at things and rebrand after 13 seasons of the league. The rebranding also saw Punjab becoming a popular online betting option in IPL markets.

Owners of Punjab Kings

Punjab Kings, the franchise that has gone through several ups and downs throughout their IPL journey, was established in 2008 and Kings XI Punjab (KXIP). The franchise is jointly owned by Mohit Burman, Ness Wadia, Preity Zinta, and Karan Paul.  Speaking of the CEO, Satish Menon currently handles the operations of the franchise.

Home Ground of Punjab Kings

Punjab Kings’ home ground is the PCA Stadium. Located in Mohali, Punjab, the PCA Stadium was built by Geetanshu Kalra from Ambala City and has a seating capacity of 26,000.

At times, Punjab Kings have needed to play away from their home ground, and their second home ground is the Holkar Stadium in Indore. While the Holkar Stadium is bigger than the PCA with a seating capacity of 30,000, it takes Punjab Kings away from their main fanbase.

Kings: Team Strengths

It goes without saying that one of the core strengths of Punjab Kings is batting. The trio of KL Rahul, Chris Gayle, and Mayank Agrawal makes for an excellent batting lineup for the franchise. And if the trio fails to cast their magic with the willow, they’ve Nicholas Pooran waiting in the wings to hit big at will.

Along with the big names, Punjab’s domestic players like Sarfaraz Khan and Shahrukh Khan are also in great form in domestic cricket. So, batting is something that Punjab Kings don’t have to worry about.

Punjab Kings: Team Weaknesses

As you’d be knowing, Punjab Kings have been fairly inconsistent with the ball in the IPL. If it happens that Mohammad Shami falls cheaply, then they usually find it difficult to stop the run flow.

Spin bowling has always been a bane for Punjab, though they’ve recruited some big names in the IPL auction. The absence of a quality international spin bowler could trouble the Kings in the middle overs and that may turn out to be the biggest challenge for their young recruits.

Punjab Kings All Time Batting Stats

Most runs – Chris Gayle (4965)

Most sixes – Chris Gayle (357)

Highest individual score – Chris Gayle (175*)

Highest strike rate – Nicholas Pooran (156.76)

Highest average – KL Rahul (45.80)

Most fifties – Chris Gayle (31)

Most centuries – Chris Gayle (6)

Most fours – Chris Gayle (405)

Fastest fifty – KL Rahul (14 balls)

Fastest century – David Miller (38 balls)

Punjab Kings All Time Bowling Stats

Most wickets – Lakshmipathy Balaji (76)

Best bowling figures – Ankit Rajpoot (4 overs, 14 runs, 5 wickets – 2018 season)

Best bowling average – Dimitri Mascarenhas (18.73)

Best economy rate – Dimitri Mascarenhas (6.93)

Most maidens – Praveen Kumar (10)

Most hat-tricks – Sam Curran, Axar Patel, Yuvraj Singh (1 each)

Punjab Kings IPL Records

IPL Season Result
2008 Semi-finalist
2009 Fifth
2010 Eighth
2011 Fifth
2012 Sixth
2013 Sixth
2014 Runners-up
2015 Eighth
2016 Eighth
2017 Fifth
2018 Seventh
2019 Sixth
2020 Sixth
2021 Sixth