New Players Only. Free bet - one-time stake of £10, min odds 1.5, stake not returned. 1X wager the winnings. Wager from real balance first. Wager calculated on bonus bets only. Max conversion: £200. Valid for 7 Days from receipt. Limited to 1 sport & 5 casino brand/s within the network. Withdrawal requests void all active/pending bonuses. Excluded Skrill and Neteller deposits. Full Terms Apply

Mumbai Indians

Having won five IPL titles so far, Mumbai Indians is the most successful franchise in the Indian Premier League (IPL). Led by “Hitman” Rohit Sharma, MI has some of the best players in the cricketing world, uses a good management structure, and employs some of the top coaches from across the globe.

MI is one of the few IPL teams that is filled with T20 specialists who deliver exceptional performances most of the time. The incredible level of discipline among its players means MI is always one of the favorites when it comes to online cricket betting on the league.

Below, we offer a comprehensive Mumbai Indians team preview encompassing everything cricket bettors need to know about the franchise. Continue reading!

Mumbai Indians History

Mumbai Indians is one of the eight founding teams that have been in the Indian Premier League (IPL) since it began in 2008. They have won a record five IPL titles so far and are currently the most successful team in the league.

Mumbai was one of the strongest teams in the initial half of IPL 2008. However, MI failed to live up to its reputation and didn’t make it to the semifinals in the inaugural IPL edition. IPL 2009 was another bad season for the franchise as they finished seventh that year.

MI’s prominence in the IPL increased when it reached the finals stage in 2010. While MI lost the game to Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in the final, the clash drew in a lot of IPL betting action on Mumbai Indians. The next two seasons of the league saw Mumbai Indians making it to the playoffs.

It was the 2013 season of the IPL when Mumbai Indians emerged as the IPL winner. Also, the 2013 season saw MI lifting the Champions League T20 trophy.

Mumbai won its second IPL title in 2015, where it defeated CSK by 41 runs in the title clash. Mumbai was unable to make it to the playoffs in 2016, but the Rohit Sharma-led side again rose to prominence in 2017. Here, MI defeated Pune Supergiant by one run in a riveting clash and lifted the coveted IPL trophy.

In 2020, Mumbai Indians went on to win the championship for a record fifth time, beating Delhi Capitals by five wickets in the final clash.

Owners of Mumbai Indians

Reliance Industries (RIL), the biggest conglomerate in India, is the owner of Mumbai Indians in the IPL. Mukesh Ambani, the chairman and MD of RIL, is the largest stakeholder in the company. His wife, Nita Ambani, is the co-owner of Reliance Industries and represents the face of Mumbai Indians. She is also a vocal supporter of MI and is extensively involved in activities surrounding the IPL franchise.

Home Ground of Mumbai Indians

During the first two IPL seasons, Mumbai Indians played all their home games at the DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai. In the 2010 IPL edition, the team played all its seven home games at the Brabourne Stadium located at Churchgate, Mumbai.

Mumbai Indians now play all their home games at the Wankhede Stadium in the same city. Built in 1974, the Stadium is named after former BCCI President S.K. Wankhede and has hosted several international matches. The stadium is owned by the Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) and has a seating capacity of 33,000.

Mumbai Indians: Team Strengths

Mumbai Indians have had one of the best batting line-ups in the IPL for years now. Skipper Rohit Sharma is undoubtedly a star batsman in the MI squad, with Quinton de Kock being another batting genius that specializes in the T20 format. The duo is further strengthened by the likes of Hardik Pandya and Kieron Pollard who are some of the biggest hitters in the limited-overs format.

Another great thing about MI is that it has lots of T20 specialists, each with their clear, defined role. The nature of the MI squad allows the franchise to properly work out its strategy and register a victory in most of its games.

Mumbai Indians: Team Weaknesses

Mumbai Indians have two main spinners in the form of Deepak Chahar and Krunal Pandya. While both of them are pretty good players, they tend to fall short of skills when compared to the likes of Ravi Ashwin, Sunil Narine, and Rashid Khan. The lack of a star spinner may hurt MI in some games. 

MI All Time Batting Stats

Most runs – Rohit Sharma (5571)

Most sixes – Rohit Sharma (225)

Highest individual score – Andrew Symonds (117*)

Highest strike rate – Hardik Pandya (154.60)

Highest average – Lendl Simmons (39.96)

Most fifties – Rohit Sharma (40)

Most centuries – Rohit Shamra, Quinton de Kock, Lendl Simmons (1 each)

Most fours – Rohit Sharma (487)

Fastest fifty – Hardik Pandya (17 balls)

Fastest century – Sanath Jayasuriya (45 balls)

MI All Time Bowling Stats

Most wickets – Lasith Malinga (170)

Best bowling figures – Alzarri Joseph (3.4 overs, 12 runs, 6 wickets – 2019 season)

Best bowling average – Lasith Malinga

Best economy rate – Jayant Yadav (6.81)

Most maidens – Lasith Malinga (9)

Most hat-tricks – Yuvraj Singh (2)

Mumbai Indians IPL Records

Year Result
2021 Fifth 
2020 First
2019 First
2018 Fifth 
2017 First
2016 Fifth 
2015 First 
2014 Fourth 
2013 First
2012 Fourth 
2011 Third 
2010 Second 
2009 Seventh 
2008 Fifth