New Players Only. Min £10 qualifying bets stake not returned. Free bet - one-time stake of £10, min odds 1.5, stake not returned. 1X wager the winnings. Wager from real balance first. Wager calculated on bonus bets only. Max conversion: £200. Valid for 7 Days from issue. Withdrawal requests void all active/pending bonuses. Excluded Skrill and Neteller deposits. Full Terms Apply

Kolkata Knight Riders

With its star owners and high-quality players, Kolkata Knight Riders is one of the most popular and brand-valued teams in the Indian Premier League (IPL). A late bloomer in the tournament in terms of success, Kolkata has won the IPL title two times – in 2012 and 2014.

Kolkata Knight Riders feature some of the best players in Indian and international cricket, which generates a lot of interest in the matches as well as in online betting markets.

On this page, we offer a comprehensive overview of the Kolkata Knight Riders team to help you make informed decisions when betting on this franchise online. Keep reading!

Kolkata Knight Riders History

The Kolkata Knight Riders have been in the Indian Premier League since the inaugural edition of the tournament in 2008. Throughout its IPL history, the franchise has managed to lift the coveted IPL trophy two times – in 2012 and 2014. Therefore, KKR is one of the most sought-after teams in the IPL betting markets.

Kolkata Knight Riders have always been one of the most popular IPL franchises, all thanks to its star owners and star players. KKR has had ex-India skipper Sourav Ganguly as its captain and icon player. Also, the team has featured big names such as Ricky Ponting, Chris Gayle, and Brandon McCullum over the years.

While KKR had a great batting and bowling lineup in the initial IPL editions, it wasn’t until 2012 that it won the first IPL title. Following its IPL 2014 win, KKR managed to make it to the playoffs in the next four seasons. However, it has been unable to reach the playoffs stage since the last two editions of the league.

Kolkata Knight Riders: Team Strengths

KKR’s biggest strength lies in its foreign recruitments. With the likes of Pat Cummins, Sunil Narine and Andre Russell in the squad, KKR boasts a strong overseas lineup. Also, Sunil Narine and Andre Russell are great all-rounders, giving skipper Morgan a lot of options when setting both the batting and the bowling order.

Kolkata also has a plethora of options available in its spin department. The likes of Sunil Narine, Harbhajan Singh, Varun Chakravarthy, and Shakib-Al-Hasan are all high-class players who have the ability to bowl different varieties of spin.

Kolkata Knight Riders: Team Weaknesses

The Kolkata Knight Riders lack quality Indian bowlers in its squad. The absence of good Indian bowlers in the pace department and overdependence of foreign recruits may hurt KKR in some games.

The likes of Shubham Gill, Nitish Rana, and Prasidh Krishna in the KKR squad have all the skills required, but their lack of experience may prove a liability for the team at crucial times.

Owners of Kolkata Knight Riders

The Kolkata Knight Riders team was bought by Bollywood Superstar Sharukh Khan’s company, Red Chillies Entertainment, in a partnership with Juhi Chawla and her spouse Jay Mehta in 2008. Sharukh Khan is the face of KKR, while Juhi Chawla and Jay Mehta handle the auction operations and management of the franchise.

Home Ground of Kolkata Knight Riders

The home ground of Kolkata Knight Riders is the iconic Eden Gardens. Owned by the Cricket Association of Bengal, Eden Gardens was earlier the largest stadium in India with a seating capacity of 90,000. However, the venue was renovated in 2011 to meet the ICC standards, which reduced the seating capacity of the venue to 68,000. The renovated venue includes general infrastructure improvements as well as a new clubhouse and players’ facilities.

Kolkata Knight Riders All Time Batting Stats

Most runs – Dinesh Karthik (3984)

Most sixes – Andre Russell (143)

Highest individual score – Dinesh Karthik (97*)

Highest strike rate – Andre Russell (178.57)

Highest average – Shubham Gill (30.02)

Most fifties – Dinesh Karthik (19)

Most fours – Dinesh Karthik (395)

Fastest fifty – Sunil Narine, Yusuf Pathan (15 balls)

Fastest century – Brendon McCullum (53 balls)

Kolkata Knight Riders All Time Bowling Stats

Most wickets – Harbhajan Singh (150)

Best bowling figures – Andre Russell (2 overs, 15 runs, 5 wickets – 2021 season)

Best bowling average – Varun Chakravarthy (23.82)

Best economy rate – Sunil Narine (6.76)

Most maidens – Sunil Narine (4)

Most hat-tricks – Sunil Narine (1)

Kolkata Knight Riders IPL Records

IPL Season Result
2021 Runners Up
2020 Fifth
2019 Fifth
2018 Third
2017 Third
2016 Fourth
2015 Fifth
2014 Winners
2013 Sixth
2012 Winners
2011 Fourth
2010 Sixth
2009 Eighth
2008 Sixth