New Players Only. Min £10 qualifying bets stake not returned. Free bet - one-time stake of £10, min odds 1.5, stake not returned. 1X wager the winnings. Wager from real balance first. Wager calculated on bonus bets only. Max conversion: £200. Valid for 7 Days from issue. Withdrawal requests void all active/pending bonuses. Excluded Skrill and Neteller deposits. Full Terms Apply

Delhi Capitals

The Delhi Capitals, formerly known as Delhi Daredevils, is one of the eight founding teams that play in the Indian Premier League (IPL). Boasting a young and dynamic squad, the Capitals has become one of the most competitive IPL teams since the last few seasons.

With an extremely loyal fanbase, DC is one of the most exciting teams to watch in IPL matches. So, it’s no surprise that Delhi Capitals is quite a lucrative option for cricket bettors across the globe.

Here is a comprehensive Delhi Capitals team preview that details everything you need to know about the franchise to enjoy online betting. Keep reading!

Delhi Capitals: Team History

Delhi Capitals were known as Delhi Daredevils before they embraced a new avatar in 2018. The team has had some of the best Indian and foreign cricketers in its squad, but still, they’ve been underperformers in most of the IPL seasons.

As with most other IPL franchises, Delhi made its IPL debut in the inaugural edition of the league. Under the captaincy of Virender Sehwag, Delhi made it to the semi-finals of IPL 2008 but lost the game to eventual champions Rajasthan Royals.

Delhi topped the preliminary stage in IPL 2009, but they failed to maintain consistency in the knockout stage and finished third that year. DC finished fifth in the 2010 season and slipped to the last position in 2011. While the team finished third under the leadership of new captain Mahela Jayawardene in IPL 2012, it couldn’t grab a top-five finish in the next six seasons.

The Capitals ended their losing streak in the 13th edition of the IPL. Under the captaincy of Shreyas Iyer, DC advanced to the knockout stage and ended as runners-up that year. The 2020 season also saw Delhi Capitals topping the cricket betting charts and becoming a favorite in the online cricket betting world.

Owners of Delhi Capitals

The Delhi Capitals franchise is a joint venture run under the ownership of the GMR group and the JSW group. The team was sold to the GMR Group in the inaugural edition of the league. However, the GMR group sold a 50% stake of the franchise to the JSW group in 2018. The deal between the two groups involves swapping the leadership of team management every two years starting the 2019 season of the league.

Home Ground of Delhi Capitals

Since the inaugural IPL edition, the Arun Jaitley Stadium has been the home venue of the Delhi Capitals. Established in 1883 as the Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium, the Arun Jaitley Stadium is located at Bahadur Shah Zafar Marg, New Delhi. It is also the second oldest international cricket stadium still functional in India and has a seating capacity of over 41,000.

Delhi Capitals: Team Strengths

With the presence of top batsmen like Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, and Rishabh Pant in the squad, Delhi Capitals have lots of quality batting options. Also, the addition of Steve Smith to the team means Delhi has the strongest lineup ever.

DC is one of the few IPL teams that have a solid spin department. The likes of R Ashwin, Axar Patel, and Amit Mishra make for a fantastic bowling trio for the Delhi-based franchise. Their bowling lineup is further bolstered by Ishant Sharma and Umesh Yadav, as the duo adds a lot of stability within the fast-bowling department.

Delhi Capitals: Team Weaknesses

Given their daring style of batting and run-making, Delhi Capitals tends to lose a lot of wickets in one go. The Capitals would want to guard against this in crucial matches like the playoffs and semi-finals.

Another weakness of DC is that apart from Stoinis in the middle order, the team lacks quality all-rounders who can do well with the bat for the franchise. Therefore, the team may experience difficulties in chasing or posting a good total if their initial wickets fall too early.

DC All Time Batting Stats

Most runs – Shikhar Dhawan (5651)

Most sixes – Shikhar Dhawan (117)

Highest individual score – Rishabh Pant (128*)

Highest strike rate – Shimron Hetmyer(150.38)

Highest average – Rishabh Pant (35.67)

Most fifties – Shikhar Dhawan (44)

Most centuries – Shikhar Dhawan (2)

Most fours – Shikhar Dhawan (646)

Fastest fifty – Chris Morris (17 balls)

Fastest century – Virender Sehwag (48 balls)

DC All Time Bowling Stats

Most wickets – Amit Mishra (166)

Best bowling figures – Amit Mishra (4 overs, 17 runs, 5 wickets – 2008 season)

Best bowling average – Kagiso Rabada (19.22)

Best economy rate – Glenn McGrath (6.61)

Most maidens – Irfan Pathan (7)

Most hat-tricks – Amit Mishra (3)

Delhi Capitals IPL Records

IPL Season Result
2008 Semi-finalist
2009 Semi-finalist
2010 Fifth
2011 10th
2012 Playoff
2013 Ninth
2014 Eighth
2015 Seventh
2016 Sixth
2017 Sixth
2018 Eighth
2019 Playoff
2020 Runners-up
2021 Third