New Players Only. Free bet - one-time stake of £10, min odds 1.5, stake not returned. 1X wager the winnings. Wager from real balance first. Wager calculated on bonus bets only. Max conversion: £200. Valid for 7 Days from receipt. Limited to 1 sport & 5 casino brand/s within the network. Withdrawal requests void all active/pending bonuses. Excluded Skrill and Neteller deposits. Full Terms Apply

Chennai Super Kings

With their distinctive yellow jersey and the famous ‘Whistle Podu’ slogan, CSK is one of the most successful teams in the Indian Premier League. Under the leadership of MS Dhoni, the franchise has managed to make it to the playoffs in every IPL season barring one.

Having an extremely loyal fanbase, CSK remains one of the most exciting teams to watch in the T20 tournament. This means that cricket betting on CSK matches is an extremely lucrative option for fans. And at Britain Bet, cricket bettors can expect the most competitive bets on Chennai Super Kings betting.

Here is a complete team preview of Chennai Super Kings to help you get started with CSK betting. Continue reading!

Chennai Super Kings: Team History

In September 2007, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the establishment of the Indian Premier League (IPL) – a T20 league to be started in 2008. In January 2008, the BCCI unveiled the eight city-based franchises, and Chennai Super Kings (CSK) was one of them.

In the inaugural edition of the IPL, CSK had acquired a lot of prominent players such as Michael Hussey, Matthew Hayden, and Stephen Fleming along with skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni. The Super Kings managed to make it to the finals in the first IPL edition but were defeated by Rajasthan Royals.

The Chennai Super Kings had some of the best stars of Indian cricket since the very start of the league. Still, they had to wait until the third IPL season before lifting the coveted IPL trophy. In the final match of IPL 2010, Suresh Raina’s amazing knock of 57 runs off 35 balls helped CSK in defeating Mumbai Indians by 22 runs. 2011 was another successful season for the franchise as they defended their IPL title that year.

CSK fell foul of regulations due to a match-fixing probe, and the franchise received a ban from the 2016 and 2017 editions of the league. 2018 saw the return of CSK to the league, and this was the season where the franchise won its third IPL title.

With a winning percentage of 59.83%, CSK is the most successful IPL team in terms of win percentage. And the franchise has also topped the online betting markets since the very start of the league.

Owners of Chennai Super Kings

The BCCI announced a franchise-based T20 league in 2007. And each of the original eight franchises was paired with a particular city and put up for auction in 2008. The Chennai-based franchise was bought by India Cements, an Indian cement manufacturing company that was founded in 1946. As the vice-chairman of managing director of India Cements, former ICC Chairman N Srinivasan became the de-facto owner of Chennai Super Kings.

In July 2015, following the match-fixing probe, the RM Lodha committee suspended Indian Cements for a period of two years. This resulted in the ownership of CSK being transferred to a new company named Chennai Super Kings Cricket Ltd.

Home Ground of Chennai Super Kings

The home ground of the Super Kings is the historic M.A. Chidambaram Stadium. Commonly called “The Chepauk”, the M.A. Chidambaram Stadium is located in Chennai and is named after former BCCI President M.A. Chidambaram. Founded in 1916, the Chidambaram Stadium is a great ground that has a seating capacity of 50,000.

At times, CSK has been forced to conduct matches away from the Chidambaram Stadium due to political reasons. In 2014, the Super Kings were forced to play all their home games due to problems with the Tamil Nadu Government. Following the same issues in IPL 2018, CSK played their final six home games in Pune.

Chennai Super Kings: Team Strengths

A strong core group and consistency have always been the plus points for CSK since the start of the IPL. With Suresh Raina and other big names in their batting lineup, CSK also has a strong batting unit that can give a good start to the side.

Skipper MS Dhoni has been the biggest strength for the Super Kings. Under his leadership, CSK has made it to the playoffs in every IPL season they’ve played except one. Then there’s the impressive pace battery in the form of Deepak Chahar and Lungi Ngidi which could prove vital at crucial times.

Chennai Super Kings: Team Weakness

CSK doesn’t have any major flaws in their squad but since IPL 2019, they seem to take time to get going. This, in turn, results in big hitters in the lower order having too much to do.

The scourge of a slow top order means CSK could find it difficult to chase huge targets. Make sure you look out for these pointers before placing a bet on Chennai Super Kings.

CSK All Time Batting Stats

Most runs – Suresh Raina (5523)

Most sixes – MS Dhoni (217)

Highest individual score – Murali Vijay (127)

Highest strike rate – Moeen Ali (152.00)

Highest average – Ruturaj Gaikwad (43.53)

Most fifties – Suresh Raina (39)

Most centuries – Shane Watson (4)

Most fours – Suresh Raina (506)

Fastest fifty – Suresh Raina (16 balls)

Fastest century – Murali Vijay (46 balls)

CSK All Time Bowling Stats

Most wickets – Dwayne Bravo (162)

Best bowling figures – Ravindra Jadeja (4 overs, 16 runs, 5 wickets – 2012 season)

Best bowling average – Lungi Ngidi (17.92)

Best economy rate – Moeen Ali (6.84)

Most maidens – Deepak Chahar (6)

Most hat-tricks – Makhaya Ntini, Sam Curran, and Shane Watson (1 each)

CSK IPL Records

Year Result
2008 Runners Up
2009 Semifinals
2010 Champions
2011 Champions
2012 Runners Up
2013 Runners Up
2014 Playoffs
2015 Runners Up
2016 Team Suspended
2017 Team Suspended
2018 Champions
2019 Runners Up
2020 7th
2021 Champions